Just in time for the holidays! You too can be scammed, ripped off, have your payment and banking information compromised and probably your ID stolen by an interesting batch of related sites, owned by the same people and/or companies!
The scam: In a nutshell, you place your order and they get your Name, Address, Phone, Email and Payment Info. 2-3 days later they send an email requesting you to call them to ‘verify’ your order. You are put through a hard sell sales pitch; buy batteries, memory cards, etc. Finally they drop the bomb, the item you ordered is from Japan, all documentation, warranty is in Japaneese. You cancel your order.
It all started while looking for a deal on a Canon G10, a digital camera. A quick search on google.com lead me to EVERYPRICE.COM where they listed the camera I wanted on sale for only $401.00 - a pretty good deal. The merchant? Broadway Photo. Now I know, many of you who have ever shopped online for electronics and/or digital cameras have already heard of BROADWAYPHOTO.COM and probably have your own tale of woe in dealing with these scammers.
In a few days I got an email asking me to call to verify my order. I was upsold on batteries and memory cards I did not want or need. I was then told the camera was in Japaneese and canceled the order.
I did another google search for Broadway Photo complaints and read a dozen or so experiences that were identical except for products. My curiostity was up and the hunt was on …
http://www.google.com/search?q=broadwayphoto.com+complaints
First I did a whois search for BROADWAYPHOTO.COM - whois keeps records of who owns domain names with contact information
Here are the results:
Registrant:
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States
Registered through: SHE Advertising
OK, this tells me that the people who run BROADWAYPHOTO.COM do not want anyone to be able to find out who they are, but who is SHE Advertising?
Another google search: “Registered through: SHE Advertising”
The results page shocked me, a list of whois information excerpts with a whole list of camera websites!
REGALCAMERA.COM
BROADWAYPHOTO.COM
AMPHOTOWORLD.COM
DBUYS.COM
MSCHW.COM
CENTRALDIGITAL.COM
IBUYPLASMA.COM
So it seems that SHE Advertising owns and runs a whole bunch of similar websites.
Are there complaints about these sites too I asked myself … well, no surprise here, yes there are, all outline the same scam, more or less.
OK, who is SHE Advertising?
Registrant:
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States
Registered through: SHE Advertising
Domain Name: SHEADVERTISING.COM
Domain servers in listed order:
NS5.BLUELINEHOSTING.COM
NS6.BLUELINEHOSTING.COM
Ah, the same DomainsByProxy as BROADWAYPHOTO.COM
OK, what is DomainsByProxy.com?
It is a service that hides your whois information that, by law, is required to be available.
And SHE Advertising’s hosting company is BLUELINEHOSTING.COM?
Registrant:
BlueLine Hosting
Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: BLUELINEHOSTING.COM
Registrant:
BlueLine Hosting
2745 Strickland Ave.
Brooklyn, New York 11234
United States
Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: BLUELINEHOSTING.COM
Created on: 31-Jul-03
Expires on: 31-Jul-09
Last Updated on: 11-Jun-08
Administrative Contact:
Hosting, BlueLine dov@dovgenut.com
2745 Strickland Ave.
Brooklyn, New York 11234
Another Brooklyn. NY address
OK, who’s dov@dovgenut.com ???
Registrant:
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States
Registered through: SHE Advertising
Domain Name: DOVGENUT.COM
So let’s go back and look at the other domains Registered through: SHE Advertising
REGALCAMERA.COM | Domains By Proxy, Inc.
AMPHOTOWORLD.COM | Domains By Proxy, Inc.
DBUYS.COM | Domains By Proxy, Inc.
I am sensing a pattern here, let’s take a look at their websites and contact information:
BROADWAYPHOTO.COM | 800-687-1740 | 718-338-3029 - Brooklyn NY
REGALCAMERA.COM | 1-800-823-0982 | 718-421-4632 - Brooklyn NY
AMPHOTOWORLD.COM | 800-709-4491 | 718-338-2950 - Brooklyn NY
DBUYS.COM | 877.993.2897 | 2931 Avenue S Brooklyn, NY 11229
IBUYPLASMA.COM | 800.886.8575 | 2931 Avenue S Brooklyn, NY 11229
CENTRALDIGITAL.COM | 800.896.4661 | 2931 Avenue S Brooklyn, NY 11229
PRESTIGECAMERA.COM | 800-432-2180 | 718-208-2939 | 315 East 89th St Brooklyn, NY 11236
MSCHW.COM Site under construction with “coming soon” message - hmmm, but they already have complaints …
BINGO! They’re all in Brooklyn, NY, all registered by SHE Advertising, have similar or the same addresses.
Now one domain name was not registered with domainsbyproxy.com, and that is MSCHW.COM. Their whois information revealed
Registrant:
Schwartz
1264 East 31 street
brooklyn, New York 11210
United States
Registered through: SHE Advertising
Domain Name: MSCHW.COM
Created on: 13-Jun-07
Expires on: 13-Jun-09
Last Updated on: 23-Jun-08
Administrative Contact:
Schwartz, Marvin jack@mistriel.com
1264 East 31 street
brooklyn, New York 11210
United States
646-667-4421
Hmmm, another Brooklyn address, a contact name but someone else’s email address … I beginning to feel like I’m in the middle of an episode of some crime show …OK, who is mistriel.com?
Registrant:
Jack Mistriel
144-48 69th Road
Flushing, New York 11367
United States
Registered through: SHE Advertising
Domain Name: MISTRIEL.COM
Hmmm, my curioisity really piqued now, who is securepaynet.net? They sell domain names, and whos logo is at the top of their page? SHE Advertising!
A Whois search revealed this contact information …
SECUREPAYNET.NET Wild West Domains, Inc. | 14455 N Hayden Rd #219 Scottsdale, Arizona 85260 | 4806242500
Hayden Rd? Scottsdale, AZ??? They are literaly right down the street from Domains By Proxy!!!
The Wild West Domains, Inc. website is hosted on SECURESERVER.NET
Who is SECURESERVER.NET? They’re owned by Wild West Domains
OK, so we have found out the SHE Advertising owns a bunch of websites that have a long history of pulling the same scam.
SHE Advertising also owns or controls MSCHW.COM and MISTRIEL.COM and SECUREPAYNET.NET (which shows Wild West Domains, Inc. as the owner but, remember, it flys the SHE Advertising logo …
A visit to SHEAdvertising.com reveals no contact information, only a form to send them an email.
SHEAdvertising.com also had a link to the company that built their website … SURFLINEDATA.COM … another whois search … Registered through: SHE Advertising at DomainsByProxy.com
I am going in circles here … almost every domain name on this page is registered by SHE Advertising through DomainsByProxy.com, except for a couple that are registered to Wild West Domains, Inc. which is on the SAME STREET as DomainsByProxy.com
All this has revealed one thing, and is summed up on this web page I found doing a google search for “Marvin Schwartz” 1264 East 31 street
http://sheddingsomelight.com/buy-cameras/list/dealers-bwayfam.html
This elaborate scheme is simply to rip you off, either in money or information. Who knows where the information goes to. Who knows?
If you have have tried to buy anything from any of the webistes or businesses or people listed here, CANCEL YOUR CREDIT CARD NOW and move on to a reputable dealer. Remember, if it sounds too good to be true, it is.
PS - wish I had found the sheddingsomelight.com link much earlier! 